Thomas A. Gorman Esq.
300 Apache Trail
Sedona, AZ 86336
Telephone: 928-863-0900
Fax: 928-282-0650
Email: lawyergorman@aol.com
Web: www.lawyergorman.com
Web: Thomas A. Gorman nolo.com
Web: Arizona's Finest Lawyers

Avvo Rating

Thomas A. Gorman Recognized As Specialist in Criminal Law Since 1990

State Bar of Arizona | Board of Legal Specialization

Testimonials

May 17, 2014

" a very good person and a hell of a lawyer"

To: Thomas A. Gorman

Dear Mr. Gorman

It was very nice to have a good conversation again with the man who changed my life.

Thank you for the wonderful job you did in representing me in my case. When my case was given to you, I really didn't know what to expect, I was a little bit worr[ied]. I was thinking that maybe you were just like the other lawyers. But after seeing you in action, I knew that I was wrong.

I was very impressed with the way you handled yourself in the courtroom. It was like watching one of those good law and order shows. You were like a fireball showing no fear of the prosecutor like some lawyers do, you knew when to attack and how to attack, it all seemed unreal but it was real.

I became very confident in you and that I was in good hands with no worry.

You are not one of the best lawyers, you are the best.

You are a very good person and a hell of a lawyer.

Thank you for the life changing experience.

Virgil Harris

You always have a friend in me.

March 2014

"The best money I ever spent on an attorney."

Unequivocally, Tom Gorman is the best money I have ever spent on an attorney. First, I hired an attorney who talked a good game, but stole my money. Feeling a great sense of despair at losing all that money, having no attorney, and not wanting to further burden my family, I went with a public defender, who literally walked in the day I was scheduled for trial, never having spent more than 30 minutes talking to me. On that day, my case was dismissed and recharged. I than hired Tom Gorman, and this is one of the best decisions I have ever made. Tom came highly recommended from a close friend who is a public defender. She told me "If I were in your shoes, there is only one person I would consider to defend me," and that was Tom Gorman. Tom took my case as spent countless hours making sure I understand the process, making sure I understood what the plan of attack was. Most importantly, Tom has taught me that I can hold my head up. He has always treated me with dignity. He knows every aspect of my case inside and out. As one in the middle of this process, and understanding how many bad attorneys are out there, I cannot stress enough the importance of hiring a great attorney like Tom Gorman. See State of Arizona v. Dan Earl CR2012-007897-001 Also see Dan Earl vs. Hon. Jeanne M. Garcia, Respondent Judge & State of Arizona, Real Party in Interest. 1-CA-SA 13-0096

Mr. Daniel J. Earl, client of Thomas A. Gorman Esq.

March 2014

"If Tom can't get the job done, then NO ONE can!!"

Three times a charm!! Tom was the third attorney hired for this particular defendants case. The first attorney took the defendants money and basically did NOTHING!! Learn from our mistakes, just because an attorneys name/face is plastered on every billboard and bus around town, doesn't mean they are credible. The second attorney didn't have the backbone to withstand the venomous attacks from the prosecutor (known to us as the "she devil"), who went great lengths to try to lock this defendant away for life. Thankfully, Tom was referred to us by a reputable California criminal defense attorney, who stated "if Tom can't get the job done, then no one can". He was absolutely right. From the day I retained Tom, I was confident the defendant was in good hands. Tom is passionate and proactive about his work. Furthermore, he is one of few attorneys who actually cares about his clients; their case and well being throughout the process. Tom goes the extra mile to insure that justice is served! Tom patiently coached the defendant and myself (loved one) right the way thru this arduous process. He continuously educated us about the court system, and politics governing the system in order to help us understand what was going on and why. He went out of his way to provide us sincere words of encouragement, and also recommended material to read, helping to keep our minds stable and positive. We thank you Tom!!! Under the worst circumstances, cultivated a positive life changing experience. Your client and I both recognize that he was blessed to have such extraordinary representation. Like the first review stated: "Best money I have EVER spent!!!"

Authored by loved one of Client of Thomas A. Gorman Esq .

Attorney Richard M. Remender - Sedona, AZ 2/20/11

" I have known Tom for well over 20 years now as a fellow criminal defense lawyer.We have worked together on numerous major felony matters including the successful defense of several clients charged or convicted of capital murder. I wholeheartedly recommend Tom to anyone charged with serious criminal matter. I am confident he will provide you with prompt, aggressive and thorough representation."

Attorney David Goldberg - Fort Collins, CO 4/19/11

Endorsement from lawyer: William Foreman , Scottsdale (AZ), 9 days ago
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community

" Tom Gorman is an experienced, talented and aggressive lawyer who tackles serious criminal cases with an efficient, direct approach. Tom consistently achieves a superior result for those clients lucky enough to obtain his legal services."

Attorney William Foreman - Scottsdale, AZ 4/22/11

" I have worked with Tom for over 15 years on many difficult criminal cases. We have been very successful with our defense strategies and outcome. Tom is a experienced trial and appellate attorney - not many attorneys are able to claim both. There are only a few attorneys that I would allow to defend me in a criminal action - Tom is one of them."

Attorney Patricia Gitre - Phoenix, AZ 4/24/11

"Tom Gorman is brilliant when it comes to defense strategy and he is fluent in the law. He is tenacious and represents his clients with great passion. He is a lawyer's lawyer. "

Attorney Monique Wilhite - Phoenix, AZ 4/26/11

A consummate Professional, thanks again Tom, you were fantastic, I can't thank you enough I was a complete fish out of water when it came to this process. Mr. Gorman, was knowledgeable, very calming and a complete professional in handling my case. His knowledge of the court system in Yavapai county was invaluable in getting me the best deal that I could given my circumstances. I could not be happier with my choice of attorney, and will recommend and continue to use his services when necessary. He made a very stressful process seem fairly effortless. He was also able to secure me a deal that avoided the almost 5 years of prison that the state wanted to give me, but instead I was given probation and allowed to return to my home state and my life.... I recommend Thomas Gorman. I used Thomas 1 month ago.

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client, April 19, 2011

The Best Lawyer !!! Thank you Tom for going above and beyond for me. I recommend Thomas Gorman. Tom Gorman is the best you will find he dives into your case and puts his all into your situation with wonderful results . I used Thomas more than 3 years ago. Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter. I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Following a March 24, 2011 Not Guilty Verdict on both Charges the Client sent an Email to the Attorney who referred him to lawyer Thomas A. Gorman.

Not Guilty

In An Email of 4/4/11 following a Trial and Not Guilty Verdict on both Charges Mr. Gorman's Client sent an Email to civil lawyer Douglas Fitzpatrick commenting on the "excellent job"

Excellent Job Not Guilty

In a letter dated May 27, 2008, a former white collar crime client wrote the following to lawyer Gorman:

"Just want to express my gratitude for the fine work you did on my behalf. I realize that you worked extremely hard and it seems you had an emotional investment in the outcome as well. For that I feel especially fortunate..."

In a letter dated April 4, 2007, a former drug crime client wrote the following letter to lawyer Gorman:

"I wanted to thank you for being my lawyer, and taking my case. I am extremely happy and satisfied at the outcome. I feel blessed to serving such a short sentence. There are many, many people here doing a lot more time for much less severe charges...

Although I didn't usually like what you had to say, I must now reflect that you were right, everything you said turned out to be true. I am hoping that this experience will better my life, that I can learn from it and move on towards a better future...

With your permission, I'll recommend you to anyone who is in need of legal counsel. I'll do this with great faith and praise that you will be able to secure the best possible outcome for your client."

In a letter dated May 3, 2005 a former white collar crime client (who's name is withheld) wrote to Attorney Gorman:

"I'm still in a little shock over the results from yesterdays sentencing. However, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the efforts that were obvious in yesterday's court results. I also would like to, for the last time, apologize for my past conduct and not trusting in you and your abilities. I will not try to excuse myself other than to say the entire experience was a win-win result...The entire process was both an education and a successful result for me...I will not always be a person without resources, thanks again to you...and if there is anything I can ever do for you feel free to call on me."

In a letter dated October 13, 1999 Keith Rohman, Mitigation Specialist, Private Investigator and President of Public Interest Investigations of Los Angeles, CA wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"Tom Gorman is one of the most intelligent, creative, committed advocates I've worked with. He brings all these skills to bear in his representation of his clients. He is also well respected in the criminal defense bar in Arizona."

In a letter dated August 18, 1997 to Attorney Gorman former client Ken Falcone wrote regarding his Petition for the Issuance of a Writ of Habeas Corpus:

"I received the enclosed published opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals on Saturday. The Court reversed and remanded with directions for judge Strand to issue the writ. Thanks for all your help on my behalf at the evidentiary hearing...you did a great job, which went a long way in winning my appeal, as evidenced by the court's mention of it in the opinion."

In a letter dated November 5, 1996 attorney (presently Santa Cruz County Superior Court Judge) Anna M. Montoya-Paez wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"...Tom Gorman...has demonstrated a high degree of skill, thoughtfulness, preparation and professionalism in preparing his cases for trial. Tom has illustrated himself as an adept negotiator for plea agreements, sentencings and evidentiary matters...Mr. Gorman and I tried a criminal case together...I was able to view Tom's skills first hand...Tom first gained a complete knowledge of all the facts of the case...Tom was well versed on every aspect of the case."

In a letter dated October 28, 1996 to the Board of Legal Specialization for the State Bar of Arizona, The Honorable Ronald S. Reinstein, Presiding Judge of the Criminal Department for Maricopa County wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"Tom works very hard on his cases and for his clients. He is a very good writer who is skilled in his work and very thorough. He has an excellent knowledge of criminal law and procedure and his ethics are of the highest standards. He has the ability to handle any type of criminal case and I have heard very good comments about him from other judges."

In a letter dated July 1, 1992 Private Investigator E. J. Aitken of Aitken Investigations, Inc. wrote of Attorney Gorman's work on a death penalty trial case:

"Last year I had the privilege of being assigned ... to assist Mr. Thomas Gorman in the preparation of the defense of one of his clients. From the very outset Tom Gorman clearly outlined to me the importance and necessity of 'turning over every rock in the quarry ' since we were certainly dealing with a capital case. I was somewhat surprised - with pleasure - to find that Tom would accompany me on several trips to Guadalupe in extremely time consuming efforts to locate and interview witnesses - all of these efforts proved to be successful... During pre-trial preparation Tom would frequently call me at all hours of the day and night - including 5:45 AM - to furnish me with new instructions regarding the case. Finally, it is my considered professional opinion that Tom Gorman's efforts in this case were nothing short of admirable..."

In a letter dated June 15, 1992 to The Honorable Ronald S. Reinstein, Presiding Judge of the Criminal Department for Maricopa County Appellate lawyer James Hamilton Kemper wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"I was assigned to do the appeal in State v. Gonzales...Appeals lawyers are often a frustrated lot. We sit here day after day reading transcripts filled with poor lawyering. We see, alas, issue after issue lost because the trial lawyer didn't make a proper record. Sometimes the inadequacy, or sheer laziness, of the trial lawyer just jumps off the page at you. You can image, then, that our joy is to read a record of a well tried case. I would say the Gonzales matter is a superbly tired case. I was very, very impressed that a lawyer so young could make such a fine record. It is a record from which Tom's talent and industry shine."

In a letter dated February 21, 1991 to the Legal Specialization Director of the State Bar of Arizona, Maricopa County Major Felony Prosecutor Noel Levy wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"I have personally had the opportunity to observe Thomas Gorman in the defense and trial of his client who was charged with Murder and Attempted Murder. His defense...was vigorous and thorough...During the trial, Mr. Gorman presented an extremely vigorous and able defense, and demonstrated his abilities and capacity to fully and adequately represent a criminal defendant. He ... was astute in his cross examination and attempted impeachment of the various witnesses presented by the State...Mr. Gorman was impressive by his display of appropriate tactics, and the legal basis by which to present the same."

In a letter dated June 25, 1990 to the Legal Specialization Director of the State Bar of Arizona, appellate attorney James R. Rummage wrote:

"Mr. Gorman is highly competent in the practice of criminal law. He keeps himself well-versed in substantive and procedural criminal law, and is always up-to-date on the rules of practice, evidence and ethics. He...possess[es] a high degree of skill, thoroughness in preparation, effectiveness and judgement in the field of criminal law."

In a letter dated April 4, 1989 to Attorney Gorman Glendale Chief of Police Jack Rose wrote:

"The class and I truly appreciate your willingness to give up an evening on our behalf. We all agreed later that your visit was one of the best individual learning experiences we shared this semester. As an added compliment I will share the classes unanimous opinion with you that if they were ever accused of a crime they would be more optimistic about the outcome if you were defending them. You obviously made quite a personal impression on them as well as impressed them with the significance of the defense attorneys role in the complete justice system."

In a letter dated April 19, 1989 to the Honorable Pam Frank, Superior Court Judge Glendale Chief of Police Jack Rose wrote:

"Thank you for asking Thomas A. Gorman to fill my request for a guest speaker representative of the Arizona Attorneys For Criminal Justice. Enclosed is a copy of my letter to Mr. Gorman thanking him for a truly outstanding presentation to my community college students. Many criminal justice students seem to develop a point of view sympathetic to the prosecution early in their training. Mr. Gorman was able to quickly and effectively open their minds to the important role of defense counsel in the justice system. He provided them a true learning experience."

In a letter dated September 9, 1988 Mitigation Specialist and Private Investigator Mary P. Durand wrote of Attorney Gorman:

"On July 8, 1987 I was court appointed to assist Clayton Hamblin in the matter of Johnny Wilson, a 13 year old remanded juvenile charged in a murder case. He had been in custody since February of 1987 and had seen Mr. Hamblin once. Needless to say, the defendant was in a most difficult situation. After months of inactivity on the part of Mr. Hamblin, Judge Goodfarb removed him from the case on 1-12-88 and appointed Tom Puklin and Tom Gorman to represent Johnny. Johnny and his family were not terribly trusting as the plea agreement they had been offered was in the process of being pulled, he had been assaulted at the jail and no intervention had occurred and all the promises had gone unfulfilled. It would have taken Houdini to assess this situation. Enter Puklin and Gorman.

It has been a long time since I have seen two people do the quality of work across all dimensions that these two men did for this client and his family. They were kind, patient, thoughtful, tenacious, creative, persistent and, most of all, competent in their representation of Johnny. I think the end result will bear this out."

In a letter dated August 7, 1986 attorney Janet Stornelli of the Legal Defense Project wrote of than student attorney Gorman:

"During the academic year of 1984-1985 when I was employed as a staff attorney in the Public Defender's Office in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Thomas A. Gorman worked with me as an intern in the Defender Clinic sponsored by Marquette University Law School. He was licensed to practice under the Student Practice Rules and handled numerous cases and court appearances in state court, including an evidentiary hearing on a motion to suppress evidence, a petition for writ of habeas corpus, and a two day long, hard fought jury trial which ended with an acquittal for our client. Tom is bright, dedicated, and diligent. His performance in the Clinic was outstanding..."

In a letter dated August 27, 1984 Winnebago States Attorney Daniel Doyle wrote of than student attorney Gorman:

"Tom Gorman served as a legal intern in this office...he did an outstanding job for us."

" a very good person and a hell of a lawyer"

To: Thomas A. Gorman

Dear Mr. Gorman

It was very nice to have a good conversation again with the man who changed my life.

Thank you for the wonderful job you did in representing me in my case. When my case was given to you, I really didn't know what to expect, I was a little bit worr[ied]. I was thinking that maybe you were just like the other lawyers. But after seeing you in action, I knew that I was wrong.

I was very impressed with the way you handled yourself in the courtroom. It was like watching one of those good law and order shows. You were like a fireball showing no fear of the prosecutor like some lawyers do, you knew when to attack and how to attack, it all seemed unreal but it was real.

I became very confident in you and that I was in good hands with no worry.

You are not one of the best lawyers, you are the best.

You are a very good person and a hell of a lawyer.

Thank you for the life changing experience.

Virgil Harris

You always have a friend in me.


Thomas A. Gorman is a trial lawyer & criminal defense attorney who represents clients throughout the state of Arizona for dui, dwi, drunk driving & drug crimes such as possession, distribution & trafficking of cannabis, marijuana, pot, methamphetamine, cocaine & heroin. Also specializing in medicinal & medical marijuana cases, sex crimes, weapons charges, assault & battery, homicide, burglary and theft. Servicing the cities of Sedona, Flagstaff, Prescott, Camp Verde, Scottsdale, Phoenix, Holbrook, Kingman, Tucson and other communities in Navajo County, Coconino County, Yavapai County and Maricopa County Arizona.